Five Pillars of Islam In Graph
Five Pillars

All] praise is [due] to Allah, Creator of the heavens and the earth, [who] made the angels messengers having wings, two or three or four. He increases in creation what He wills. Indeed, Allah is over all things competent.
Al-Quran 35:1 

Introduction of the topic

Five pillars of Islam are;
1) SHAHADA (Confession of Faith)
2) Salat (Prayer)
3) Zakat (Almsgiving)
4) Sawm (Fasting, especially in the month of Ramadan)
The about five pillars are also called the pillars of the Faith. 
The details of above mentioned important points are given under-mentioned.

 SHAHADA Confession of  FAITH

Though the two phrases of the shahada are both present in the Quran.The expression al-shahada (the Witnessed) is used in Quran as one of the “titles of ALLAH(SWT)”. In Islam, the shahada has two parts: la ilaha illa’llah (there is no god but ALLAH(SWT), and Muhammadun rasul Allah (Muhammad is the messenger of ALLAH(SWT), which are sometimes referred to as the first shahada and the second shahada. 
أشهد أن لا إله إلاَّ الله و أشهد أن محمد رسول الله
The meaning is: “I testify that there is no god but God (Allah (SWT)), and I testify that Muhammad is the messenger of God (Allah(SWT). 
The text of the declaration is called the Kalima, meaning “words.” Recitation of the Shahadah is the most important of the Five Pillars of Islam for Muslims and is performed daily as part of the Salat. Recitation of the Shahada in public is also the requirement for conversion to Islam. 


Salah (ṣalah) is an Arabic word whose basic meaning is “communication”. In its English usage, the reference of the word is almost always confined to the Muslim.
Praying five times a day, kneeling towards Mecca. There are specific ritualistic movements and prayers that are said.
Prayer can be spoken, silent (no talking). It can be used to praise ALLAH(SWT) or to ask for something including any sort of help and forgiveness. Prayers can be said over and over again. 


الم ذَٰلِكَ ٱلْكِتَٰبُ لَا رَيْبَۛ فِيهِۛ هُدًى لِّلْمُتَّقِينَ
ٱلَّذِينَ يُؤْمِنُونَ بِٱلْغَيْبِ وَيُقِيمُونَ ٱلصَّلَوٰةَ وَمِمَّا رَزَقْنَٰهُمْ يُنفِقُونَ وَٱلَّذِينَ يُؤْمِنُونَ بِمَآ أُنزِلَ إِلَيْكَ وَمَآ أُنزِلَ مِن قَبْلِكَ وَبِٱلآخِرَةِ هُمْ يُوقِنُونَ أُو۟لَٰٓئِكَ عَلَىٰ هُدًى مِّن رَّبِّهِمْۖ وَأُو۟لَٰٓئِكَ هُمُ ٱلْمُفْلِحُونَ 
Al-Qur’an 2:2-5
 This is the Book about which there is no doubt, a guidance for those conscious of Allah.Who believe in the unseen, establish prayer, and spend out of what We have provided for them,
And who believe in what has been revealed to you, and what was revealed before you, and of the Hereafter they are certain.
Those are upon guidance from their Lord, and those are the successful.
وَأَقِيمُوا۟ ٱلصَّلَوٰةَ وَءَاتُوا۟ ٱلزَّڪَوٰةَ وَٱرْڪَعُوا۟ مَعَ ٱلرَّٰڪِعِينَ
Al- Qur’an 2:43
Translation: And establish prayer and give Zakah and bow with those who bow [in worship and obedience].
The  purpose of salah is to act as a person’s communication with and remembrance of the LORD. By reciting “The Opening”, the first sura (chapter) of the Quran, as required in daily worship, the worshiper can stand before ALLAH(SWT), thank and praise him, and ask for guidance along the “Straight Path”.
There are lots of benefits of Salah.Those who perform five times prayer will be rewarded in the world and in hereafter both.
Zakat, the giving of alms to the poor and needy, is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is obligatory upon every adult Muslim of sound mind and means.
The individual must own a specific amount of wealth or savings (after living costs, expenses etc). This is referred to as Nisaab and is the threshold at which Zakat becomes payable. The amount of Zakat to be paid is 2.5% of Nisaab .
“The alms are only for the Fuqara’ (the poor), and Al-Masakin (the needy) and those employed to collect (the funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveler who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise.” [Al-Quran 9:60]
“They ask you as to what they should spend. Say: Whatever wealth you spend, it is for the parents and the near of kin and the orphans and the needy and the wayfarer, and whatever good you do, Allah surely knows it.” [Al-Quran 2:215] 

The under-mentioned people can receive Zakat;
1) The Fuqara’ (the poor)
2) Al-Maskin (the needy)
3) Aamileen (Zakat collector)
4) Muallafatul Quloob (poor and needy who recently converted to Islam)
5) Ar-Riqaab (slaves; Zakat can be used to purchase their freedom)
6) Ibnus-Sabeel: A stranded traveller in need of financial assistance.
7) Al Ghaarimeen: A debtor
Fi Sabeelillah: Those who are away from home in the path of Allah.

Muslims are prohibited from eating, drinking and engaging in conjugal sexual relationships from dawn (fajr) to sunset (maghrib). 
“O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous”.
—-  Quran, Surah Al-Baqarah (2), Ayah 183
[Fasting for] a limited number of days. So whoever among you is ill or on a journey [during them] – then an equal number of days [are to be made up].
And upon those who are able [to fast, but with hardship] – a ransom [as substitute] of feeding a poor person [each day]. And whoever volunteers excess – it is better for him. But to fast is best for you, if you only knew.”
— Quran, Surah Al-Baqarah (2), Ayah 184 
“The month of Ramadhan [is that] in which was revealed the Qur’an, a guidance for the people and clear proofs of guidance and criterion. So whoever sights [the new moon of] the month, let him fast it; and whoever is ill or on a journey – then an equal number of other days.
Allah intends for you ease and does not intend for you hardship and [wants] for you to complete the period and to glorify Allah for that [to] which He has guided you; and perhaps you will be grateful.”
— Quran, Surah Al-Baqarah (2), Ayah 185.

The Hajj “pilgrimage” is an annual Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia,the holiest city for Muslims, and a mandatory religious duty for Muslims that must be carried out at least once in their lifetime by all adult Muslims who are physically and financially capable of undertaking the journey, and can support their family during their absence.


وَلِلَّهِ عَلَى النَّاسِ حِجُّ الْبَيْتِ مَنِ اسْتَطَاعَ إِلَيْهِ سَبِيلًاوَمَن كَفَرَ فَإِنَّ اللَّهَ غَنِيٌّ عَنِ الْعَالَمِين َ
And Pilgrimage to the House is incumbent upon men for the sake of Allah, (upon) every one who is able to undertake the journey to it; and whoever disbelieves, then surely Allah is Self-sufficient, above any need of the worlds. (Aal-e-Imran, Chapter #3, Verse # 97)
وَأَتِمُّوا الْحَجَّ وَالْعُمْرَةَ لِلَّهِ 
And complete the Hajj or Umrah in the service of Allah
*Sayings of Holy Prophet Hazrat Mohammad(SAW) are**
Hadith # 01: 
“If Hajj  became obligatory, whoever dies without having performed Hajj dies a Jew or a Christian.”
Hadith # 02:
“If Hajj becomes obligatory on a person and it is not performed, then he/she will be raised as a Christian or Jew on the Day of Judgment.”
Hadith # 03: 
“When a person, on whom Hajj becomes obligatory, completes the Hajj properly, his/her sins are forgiven such as if he/she is a newly born child.”
Hadith # 04:
When a person completes a Hajj properly, his/her every prayer is accepted for four months.
If you find any sort of mistake  it is humble requested to you that inform us on the mentioned email.
Suggestions are highly appreciated on behalf of readers.
Remember us in your prayers.
Written By:-
                  Syed Ihtisham Ulhaq Bin Syed Moulana Muhammad Khwaja Din

Leave a Reply